I reciently realized the importance of being yourself. There was a time in my life when I would customize my resume based on the job I was seeking. I’m a jack-of-all-trades kind of guy, and was always expecting employers to want an empolyee they could eaisly put a label on. I’ve come to realize that while that’s true of many companies, it’s not true of the ones that I fit into.

Reguardless of the company and it’s philosophy, I’ve found it critical to be honest about your strengths and weeknesses. If your a good worker, the right company will find a place for you. If they can’t benefit from your unique skills, then it’s simply not a good fit. Shake hands, and know you’ve at least made one more good contact, that knows you’re a no bull shit kind if guy. Your reputation follows you everywhere you go.

The first step in doing this is being honest with yourself. The career that fate/genetics has chosen for you might make it a little harder to find work, but when you do, it will be a job, that will be a career, that you can be happy with. And work won’t seem so much like work.

Don’t be afraid you won’t get the job, if your not right for it, brave the cold and find the one you are right for.

Dan